A-to-Z Challenge: Emerald

#Haibun – Emerald Castle

Shrunken by a type of a ray gun developed by a scientist who wanted to sabotage her, Sylvia decides to embark on a quest to Emerald City where she has heard tales of a wizard who can undo the damage. Panting from the aftermath of a courageous battle with a blood-sucking flea who wanted to have her for breakfast, she arrives at the translucent doorstep falling to her knees in gratitude. She apprehensively knocks on the door feeling the ice-cold surface as the vibrations of her knock echo in the chambers ahead. A butler with an unperturbed expression opens the door and with a flourish, he bows deeply before Sylvia and welcomes her inside the castle. Must persist on this journey with hope that justice will be served otherwise we grow accustomed to darkness!

A sparkling jewel
Gleamed in the lush, green forest
In all its splendor

Previous Posts in 2019 A to Z Challenge 
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

In response to:

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Reena Saxena says:

    Will the damage be undone? You leave a question mark. Thanks for joining in, Sa!

    Like

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Reena! It’s my first time checking out this challenge I love to write stories and some may have cliff hangers. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful! Excellent job on combining prompts.
    Very descriptive writing. “Battle with a blood sucking flea” ?! Now that has me curious!! Reena is spot on, lol. You do leave a question mark. You might have to write another installment of this story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MNL says:

    another fun flash fiction. I love the photo too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you for stopping by! I thought the were beautiful elegant bottles.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. MNL says:

        Me too. Maybe perfume bottles? I love all the different shapes.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. theresaly520 says:

          Yes, I think they’re like decanters. Bottles like these make it fun for artists to sketch. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. MNL says:

            I agree. gorgeous.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. -Eugenia says:

    Nice take on the prompt and stunning image! Thank you for following BrewNSpew.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you very much Eugenia! Look forward to reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. theresaly520 says:

    Thanks! 😄 I think we all deal with pests. Yes, for my readers’ sake, some stories need a satisfying conclusion❤

    Like

  6. Jade Li says:

    I love the imagery and the actions going on in this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you, it was a fun symbolic write for me! 🙂

      Like

  7. Rich, beautiful emerald green…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Yes, I thought the photo was lovely too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hairstyles says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.