#SoCS- Murmurings of Czech

If European cities were a necklace, Prague would be a diamond among the pearls

Anonymous

Czech Republic has been a country I’ve frequently heard about throughout my life. Whether it was my high school project on the Cold War, a Sabrina the Teenage Witch comedic sitcom episode, or one of my many places on my director’s travel wish list, Czech has always struck my curiosity with a peculiar fascination.

Though travel slow right now, I have a travel membership that allows me to daydream a bit in the meantime. They have categories which makes it difficult for me to choose:

  • Go Back In Time in Prague and Beyond
  • See Picturesque Prague by Land and Water
  • Relive Medieval Times in the Czech Countryside

Prague

Here are some snapshots of some areas in Prague I found on the website! The towering Gothic architecture is a sight to behold!

Walking around the Prague is comparable to being in a fairy tale: except for one minor detail: it’s real. 

Lust for the World (1 day in Prague)

Prague; the city so beautiful that it was spared by Hitler… or so the story goes. Prague is a living and breathing enigma; old and dirty but somehow unimaginably graceful.

World of Wanderlust

The ancient splendor and beauty of Prague, a city beyond compare, left an impression on my imagination that will never fade

Richard Wagner

It’s easy to fall in love among the winding cobblestone streets and snow-covered castles of Prague, but is it a good idea?

Dana Newman, Found in Prague


Detinice Castle, Kralovehradecky

Excerpt from Unusual Hotels of the World:

Medieval themed hotel providing magical middle ages experiences in an authentic setting

This property is a fantastic escape from the day to day boredom and way better than any chain hotel for stories to tell your friends about. Step back to a more rustic time and enjoy the authentic and imaginative attention to detail, the quality of entertainment, excellent food, wine and the whole atmosphere to make your trip memorable and truly MEDIEVAL!

Wooden floors, wooden beds, simple and rustic furniture – original pieces, candle lit rooms, unique bathrooms – simple, rough but stylish, wooden faced flushing toilets, etc. Behind the decor, the facilities and service are modern.

Dinners are served in the next door Brewery Tavern – an extravaganza of banqueting, drinking and regular live entertainment medieval style.
Feast on food prepared on a traditional open fire and beer served by tough and tender wenches of the Inn. Be entertained by swordsmen, jugglers and dancers in the candle lit vaults.  But be prepared for medieval mannerisms – keep in check or fall foul of the Innkeeper!!

A part of the Dětenice resort – baroque Chateau, adjacent Medieval Tavern with Brewery and authentic style Medieval hotel.

Eastern Europe has been really trendy. Prague is the best-preserved city in the region … and the best beer in Europe lands on your table there for 50 cents.

Rick Steves

I will end my daydream with a quote unlike the ones shown above. I suppose I need a balanced perspective! 😉

How can you not love a city that has a pub with vinyl cushions on the wall above the gents’ urinal, so you can rest your head while you ‘go’? Where you can order a beer without speaking, simply by placing a beer mat on the table? And where that beer is probably the best in the world?

But it’s not just exquisite ale and a wonderfully relaxed drinking culture that keep bringing me back to Prague. There’s also wit and weirdness in equal measure: a public fountain where two figures pee in a puddle, spelling out literary quotations; a 1950s nuclear bunker hidden beneath a city centre hotel; and a cubist lamppost. Quirky doesn’t even begin to describe it.

-Neil Wilson (Lonely Planet)

8 Comments Add yours

  1. judeitakali says:

    Wow Saly. You have successfully made one of your dreams mine. Oh my.💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jay Bleu says:

    I would love to visit, too. A lot of these places aren’t talked about as much… but hold so much rich history and architecture and food… I think Hungary is another one…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Hungary would be fascinating! One of my teachers enjoyed the sights when he visited. I’m curious to learn about the country Liszt crerated about in Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALqOKq0M6ho

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jay Bleu says:

        I hear that back in the day it was the place to be… pre- World War 1

        Like

  3. InspiresN says:

    Great post , great travel destination indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you, Nisha! ❤ Someday, I will give an update when I head out there, but in the meantime, it'll just be a dream! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lamp replica says:

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Hi Phoebe! Sure feel free to share! I’m glad you enjoyed my Czech post. Your post on vertigo hang lamp is fascinating. The structure of the lamp is unique. Happy new year!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.