Sunshine Blogger Award #5 from Proscenium – Life, Relationships, Movies

The Sunshine Blogger Award is per recognition award for bloggers who inspire readers by promoting positivity and bringing joy

Good afternoon everyone! I would like to sincerely thank Jason @ Proscenium for nominating me for a Sunshine Blogger Award. He hosts the fun Friday Follies photo challenge (hilarious entries from participants), takes interesting photos and gives a slice of his day while promoting other bloggers. Please stop by and take a look into his world!

Rules for Award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link back to their blog so others can find them.
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers and ask them 11 new questions.
  • Notify the nominees about it by commenting on one of their blog posts. (In my case, I tag!)
  • List the rules and display a Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or your blog site.

Jason’s Questions

Is what you’re doing now what you always wanted to do growing up? If not, what did you always want to be “when you grew up?” Was there a reason why?

Short answer: yes and no. 🙂

Image Credit: Berzin @ Pixabay

When I was a young girl, I wanted to be a doctor “when I grew up”. I imagined taking care of a clinic full of sick stuffed animals who needed care. I just wanted them to be happy again so that we can drink tea together. I always felt called to help people feel better. I was sensitive to those who were suffering. In college, I attempted to do a pre-med track only to get burnt out in the process. I didn’t get much sleep in those years and didn’t eat properly either because of the stress of maintaining a decent GPA to get into medical school.

I was rattled and a train wreck three years into the program. I later explained to my parents that perhaps this isn’t the right path for me and decided to do some soul searching. I asked myself what were things that I enjoyed doing: listening to music, art, writing, crafty activities, gardening, tinkering with tech stuff. Changing my course wasn’t easy at first. In the course of my recuperation, I decided to participate in a “Trash-to-Treasure” environmental contest hosted by my school after reading a story about some inventive dresses made out of recycled products.

There was a deadline to the project so I decided to go with a simpler project. I was later inspired by a curtain made out of plastic bottle parts and enjoyed the process of connecting all the pieces together. Time just flew by and I had fun!

What is/was a relationship deal breaker for you?  Why? Is that the same for friendships?

As understanding and patient I can be, I’ve had quite a few deal breakers even in the midst some redeeming qualities they may have. Some deal breakers for me for relationships and friendships alike were individuals with abusive personalities, poor hygiene/uncleanliness, and laziness. It’s difficult for me to cut ties due to my desire to help people through problems, but there are times when it is necessary for my own well being.

  • Anyone who has been around abusive people knows that they create an incredibly toxic environment for you and they will drain you physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Sometimes, they can be logical and knowledgeable yet hurtful with their arrogance. Constantly taking a beating figuratively and literally eventually takes its toll. Taking care of myself means giving myself space from those sorts of individuals.
  • Poor hygiene has always irked me. It is very difficult to be in close proximity around someone who doesn’t bother to brush their teeth or take regular showers. I can take note of their compassion, but at a distance?
  • Laziness bugs me because if people won’t make the effort to work on a relationship, why be in one? It reveals to me that they don’t care, and if they don’t care, then I won’t feel adequately cared for. Laziness is different than resting or recreation. I’ve always been surrounded by hardworking people all my life and I’ve seen the fruits of that labor play out in various facets of their lives including their relationships.

What’s something you can’t go a day without doing?

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” 

― J.R.R. Tolkien

Eating! Good food can instantly change my mood and worldview on life. I love the delectable colors of this vegetable skewer!

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”

― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own
Image Credit: Pixabay

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done for love?

There was a relationship I had which didn’t last, but it taught me a lot of important life lessons. The craziest thing I think I did for love was that I got down on my knees and cried in front of this individual. In hindsight, it doesn’t sound too crazy, but at the time I refused to be vulnerable because I didn’t want to show any weaknesses. I set up so many walls that guys used to think that I didn’t have feelings. They would never see me cry, and I never wanted someone to take advantage of my heart. The moment I tore down the walls I built for myself, I was open to what was going to happen, and that scared me.

Genius lyrics
“.. When you built your walls too high
And there’s no one to love you
When you trap yourself inside
…”

What scene in a movie has evoked the most feelings out of you?

There are certain scenes in movies that stand out in my memory. Life changers.

Typically, the ones that have evoked the most feelings are the ones I don’t think I’ll ever want to see again: war, WWII, Holocaust. Movies about featuring the depravity in the Holocaust like Schindler’s List, Sophie’s Choice, Boy in the Striped Pajamas. The final scene in Schindler’s List where Oscar talks about saving one more life, the scene where Sophie is asked to choose which of her children shall survive, the scene where the boys go to the gas chamber…

Though I have never watched Passion of the Christ, I assumed it was going to evoke many feelings. My family and I avoided it for the brutal violence and the newspaper report of a woman getting a heart attack while watching it in the theater.

On the opposite side of the spectrum, some movie scenes that evoked incredibly positive emotions was the Amazonian training scene in Wonder Woman, the grandmother remembering her father in Coco, women achieving their dreams in Hidden Figures, Circle of Life in Lion King.

11 Nominees

You are not obligated to respond to this award nomination, however it is a wonderful way for me to recognize your blogs! Thank you for being here!

Questions

  1. What will be your next inspiring endeavor?
  2. What is your native language? Are there any other languages you would like to learn?
  3. Describe your favorite restaurant.
  4. What was the last compliment you received?
  5. What is the most courageous thing you have ever done?

Thank you again for reading! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Joey Blue says:

    great post and congrats! my favorite was the Tolkien quote

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! It’s been a while since I’ve seen LOTR! 🙂 It’s great to revisit

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheree says:

    Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Sheree! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the shout-out, I really appreciate it. I’ve been award free for some time now, but it’s still awesome to be recognized by peers. Keep up the great work, and your nomination was well-deserved. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      No problem! Keep inspiring with your amazing photos! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mariawijk says:

    Thank you so much for the recognition and congrats to your nomination!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! I really enjoy your photos and I hope my readers do as well. 🙂

      Like

  5. Awe thank you for this..I so appreciate your time and kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      You’re welcome Kerri! You write lovely words from your heart. I’m grateful to read your work when I can! ❤

      Like

  6. It was great learning more about you–and many thanks for the kind mention! The award is now safe in my awards cabinet 🙂

    I particularly loved the glass evening gown but all the art shown here is amazing! It must have taken so long to make it, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      No problem, your posts have always fascinated me! 🙂 From what I read, there was a fairly large team that worked together to make the gowns. Nevertheless, several hours did go into it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Winnie says:

    Congratulations! I was amazed with those recycled dresses. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Yes! They astounded me as well when I first encountered them, and still do. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Winnie says:

        Me too! 😃❤️

        Like

  8. 3C Style says:

    Congrats Sa! There is a lot to love in this post. Firstly, the curtain made out of plastic bottle parts is very inspiring. I also enjoyed your honest answers. They were unexpected and it is a real pleasure to get to know you better. I must say I am with you with the abusive personalities, poor hygiene/uncleanliness, and laziness. These would be a relationship deal breaker for me as well. Keep smiling.

    Like

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Dominque! I’m glad you think so too. Hope you have a wonderful day, and I hope to stop by and get inspired by your blog posts. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 3C Style says:

        Thanks! Sorry for taking so long to reply. I was busy with work and helping my son with his study. The final exams are almost over, thankfully.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. ArtisanX says:

    Love the responses. Thanks for getting to them! 😉.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.