My Unlived Life

It didn’t matter
that her mini black leather skirt
was flying in the wind
revealing her fish net stockings
or that her black boots with spikes 
were covered in
dandelions and dirt

She was engaged
Passionate about her art
Guided by the lyrics and beats of 
Avril Lavigne, Blink 182, Green Day
Running with her boyfriend
Jumping over fences
in the starry night

She was free to do
whatever she wanted
Spray painting her masterpiece
on the side of an abandoned building
Wearing her gas mask to filter out the fumes
Desiring to leave an impact
People will finally listen
They will understand
this crumbling world
and rise from
the ashes

Reality check: *sigh* 😉 As a teenager, I was intrigued by the punk aesthetic. There was a fearless, rebellious, mindset affiliated with the culture. Although there were several Gothic cliques in my school, I never actually participated in wearing the clothing. I might have been a graffiti artist I wasn’t disciplined by my parents. I don’t see myself climbing fences in the middle of the night. Any running I do is in the daytime. Most of my nights are spent studying.

I share these two videos of Avril Lavigne at different ages of her life to illustrate how much she has grown. Although, I never did the things she did in her teenage video, my mind and spirit was right there with her. In her later video, she talks about how her voice becomes a driving force. She asks God to keep her head above water and not let her drown.

In response to:

  • Dark Netizen’s Wacky Weekend Challenge: Black
  • VJ Knutson’s Weekly Prompt: Unlived Lives

40 Comments Add yours

  1. V.J. Knutson says:

    I love this – how the image of the punk chick seems so glorified, juxtaposed with your perceived constrained life. Thanks for participating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      It was a great prompt VJ! I think we always wonder what kind of person we would be if we made the decision to go down one path over another.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hélène Vaillant says:

    What you created in this post is great, love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Helene! An inspirational prompt took me to another place today! I was thinking back to past experiences, and laugh about the what if’s. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hélène Vaillant says:

        It is so good.

        Like

  3. Lwbut says:

    You little proot-rebel you! 😉

    I can totally see you in the long green braids. Not so much the gas mask though? ;-)The music of our teens is such a powerfully compelling force.

    Avril ‘s voice is definitely one of those. 🙂 Love the poetry!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thanks It’s all in my mind. Imagining an unlived life was fun. 🙂 I wouldn’t be the person who I am today without my teenage music playing a part in shaping me.

      I was never one to cause trouble though. I was the stark opposite of this poem! Never had a boyfriend then. Spent my nights studying.

      I remembered when my teachers tried to keep me away from them because they thought I was impressionable. Many of them were very friendly to me. Here I am still thinking about it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lwbut says:

        ( Just noticed the error in my previous comment – i meant proto-rebel, not proot-rebel, but you probably got that huh? 😉 )

        Teachers can sure leave some lasting ‘impressions’ – some good some not so good. 🙂

        I’m drawn to those who make me think – it’s my favourite thing to do. ( After eating chocolate!) 🙂

        You were the goody two shoes heads down student?? Awww… and there i was imagining you to be a little terror like young Avril! 😉

        There’s still time y’know?? 😀

        Like

        1. theresaly520 says:

          Yeah, it’s been a while since your last Philosophical chat! 🙂 When will we see the next one? I’ve started to read Steven Pinker’s book on the Blank Slate….

          I had my moments! Small rebellious moments that made my calculus teacher give me the death stare. 😀

          Like

          1. Lwbut says:

            Hahahaha! Calculus! – i hated that branch of math – so useful but so unobvious?

            I’m trying to write two pieces, one on how we should be better organised as organisms as individuals and as a species, and one on how all we are really boils down to two basic two ‘pole’ concepts (Mass/energy and positive/negative charge – plus a whole bunch of empty space filled with a myriad of inter-related potentiality fields: Everything we call a thing is made up of just protons and neutrons in a field of potential charge that has no identity until we physically observe it!)

            Deep huh? 😉

            Have not heard of Blank State? I may have to look into it?

            Oh – Hi Sa! 🙂 ( almost forgot!)

            Liked by 1 person

            1. theresaly520 says:

              Hi! Morning! Oh yes! Calculus has all sorts of business applications. I had two teachers for calculus. The one who gave me an icy blue death stare shared his fascination with Johnny Depp movies with us. I really don’t think he liked me! 🙂 The female was from Ireland and a wonderful teacher. Two interesting characters!

              HMMM! fascinating… I once knew someone who studied organizational behavior and management, but never like this!…

              Here’s Steven Pinker’s Ted Talk on the Book! https://www.ted.com/talks/steven_pinker_chalks_it_up_to_the_blank_slate#t-4435

              Liked by 1 person

          2. Lwbut says:

            Sorry – Blank Slate! – Gotta run for a while.

            Like

  4. The Eclectic Contrarian says:

    I’ve always been a blend of everything. Not just one category. Different, yes! But it’s me!

    The girl looks very nice! 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Hence the name Eclectic Contrarian? 😀 I think being eclectic is wonderful and allows you to bond with many people from all walks of life.

      Yes! I think both girls look awesome! They could star in their own movies! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Eclectic Contrarian says:

        That’s about right!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Joey Blue says:

    wow… flashback! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Hehe… 🙂 Yes, I was a combustible teenager fighting a swarm of feelings that I was constantly suppressing. Maybe it wasn’t the healthiest thing for me, but it kept me out of trouble I suppose. 😀

      Like

      1. Joey Blue says:

        Haha. I was there, too. Well how old are you now, if you don’t mind sharing?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. theresaly520 says:

          A common question! I’m 30 now. Been around the block once or twice. Life has opened many doors for me! 🙂

          Like

          1. Joey Blue says:

            Oh, wow. I only ask because I’m 32. I thought you were probably around my age.

            Like

            1. theresaly520 says:

              Is it easier to guess that by how I write? 🙂 I thought about sharing a page from my diary from when I was 14. I certainly wrote about life differently then!

              Like

            2. Joey Blue says:

              Oh ya, do that! That would be really interesting. Actually Blink 182 and April Lavigne gave away your age 😂

              Liked by 1 person

            3. theresaly520 says:

              lol…Yeah…when my coworkers found out I don’t use Instagram, that definitely gave away my age! They really thought I was younger than them! I suppose I should be moving onward to BTS and Sam Tsui now! 🙂

              Like

            4. Joey Blue says:

              Maybe. I don’t even know who or what they are 😂

              Liked by 1 person

            5. theresaly520 says:

              BTS is a hot Korean band, that young teenage girls can’t stop talking about. 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBuZEGYXA6E

              Like

  6. I was also a big Avril Lavigne fan (still am) and intrigued by the edginess of punk fashion. I would still say theirs that element to my creative drive and fashion. Though my art has always been much tamer I have a little bit of her past rebel spirit….I think a lot of creatives do. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      I feel the same! I was fascinated by the culture from afar. It was as if I felt their influence, but never was fully in it. Avril will always be a part of me and inspire me in other facets of my life. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Maybe the punk part is gone, but I still see the rebel in you! 🙂

    My honour to receive two responses for my prompt! 😀 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      lol, Maybe I could try it as a costume for Halloween sometime! 🙂

      Like

      1. Hahaha..would be fun! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  8. oneletterup says:

    Such fun to imagine this along with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! It was a little out there, but my imagination wanted to visit! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. MyPoems says:

    I loved this poem… 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! It was fun to imagine what it is like to live as someone else.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.