Freedom of Expression – Dream!

TOPIC FOR TODAY : DREAM/DREAMER/DREAMING

Every Thursday, I will pick up a “prompt word” to be acted upon by y’all. You are free to go wild with your imagination and interpret the “prompt” in any way that you like – photo, prose, poetry, fiction, non-fiction, quotes, articles or drawing/painting – whatever works for you!  In short, it’s all about you being the BOSS and choosing the best way possible to express and depict your understanding of the prompt and go berserk!

Richa @ iScriblr

I’m going to entertain myself and let myself daydream for a moment! My boyfriend would be happy to read this. He daydreams quite often, and as a result comes up with amazing ideas and solutions. I tend to underestimate the benefits reaped from simply sitting back on a bed somewhere and letting my mind wander. Sometimes I find myself drawn in many directions as I am an eclectic person. Let’s see where my stream of consciousness takes me today!

Nox @ The Daily Spur shared this photo prompt and the first thing that comes to my mind is the contours of a geological topographic map and pleated fabric. It’s minimalist, yet intriguing with its curves and shadows revealing layers and depth. I can almost imagine feeling the texture of it in my hands!

Seeing pleated fabric in Nox’s images inspires me to search for images of several pleated dresses and I stumble across some stunning gowns. I’ll save these ideas as they can be applied to future projects.

As I’m looking at this array of photos, I can’t help but think of an inspirational image I saved of Coco Chanel who was sitting at a studio desk of sorts. She had this look of wonder as she drew sketches of what she wanted to create next. The backdrop was a variety of sewing supplies in a chaotic mess of sorts. Yet, the expression on her face reflected a very clear vision of what she was going to achieve. I remembered thinking to myself, “I want to feel what Coco Chanel is feeling.” Excitement, passion, enthusiasm integrated in a grounding sense of purpose.

Coco Chanel was born Gabrielle Bonheur Chanel in 1883 in France. After her mother died, her father, a peddler dropped her off at an orphanage where she learned to sew. The name Coco came from her early career as a singer. She opened her shop in 1910 initially selling hats, and as she branched out, she began making clothes. Her initial success in sewing came after she refashioned an old jersey into a dress on a cold day. She continued to build on top of her thriving business by creating a fragrance line. She describes perfume so elegantly here:

Suddenly, I’m remembering my mother’s favorite Coco Chanel perfume: Nth degree #5. This elegant and timeless scent will always remind me of mom. I remembered when she found a good deal at the souvenir shop at the airport, a set of three bottles for $60 or so. Mom always loves to drift away to a fanciful world that she dreams and often brought me along with her.

Coco had her share of ups and downs in her life. She had an controversial love life tinged with a bit of scandal and some fascinating friendships including Winston Churchill, Pablo Picasso, and Igor Stravinski! Now I’ll just reflect on some bold quotes by Coco Chanel and keep dreaming. Thanks for reading, dear dreamer! Till next time! 😉

In response to:

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Leya says:

    Elegantly put together!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Leya! I enjoy connecting unrelated thoughts together. 😀 Makes me aware of how interconnected everything is.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mr. A says:

    Love the “fashion changes but style endures”. That is why I always avoid fashion and embraced style that lasts. It is easy to get caught up in trends but class and elegance will always be timeless. Same thing goes with the other aspect in life, like manners and courtesy. “Call outs” and “self expression” might be all the rage this days but poise will always be timeless.

    Great post theresaly! 👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! I appreciate this thoughtful comment! It’s interesting you bring up manners and courtesy. I once spent an entire summer reading several books about the subject. You’ve given me an idea for a future post! There was once a classmate I admired who had poise. There was a sense of confidence in her gait, She stood tall and had beautiful posture. Her floral clothing seemed to be made of fine silk. Everything seemed impeccable and high quality. Your words have brought back fine memories. thank you…:)

      Like

  3. Winnie says:

    You managed to pull the prompts altogether. Lovely gowns. I’m loving the classics as they are timeless. 😉❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Winnie! I enjoy finding connections between prompts. It’s becoming a fun hobby! My cousin-in-law once wore one of these mermaid dresses for her wedding. It was so beautiful to see in person!

      Like

      1. Winnie says:

        You’re welcome! Wow! Thank you for sharing

        Like

  4. iScriblr says:

    Oh wow Sa, what a wonderful take on all the prompts!
    I love how smoothly you cascaded through all the topics! Brilliant!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you dear Richa! ❤ It was fun to daydream a bit. I enjoyed it very much and I'm sure many others did too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. msjadeli says:

    Thank you for helping me get acquainted with Coco Chanel! Wonderful and inspiring post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Li! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You are welcome 🙂

        Like

  6. M.B. Henry says:

    She definitely led one heck of a life -great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! Hers was definitely not a boring one! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.