Freedom of Expression – Art!

Good evening everyone! I’m here to participate in Richa’s “Freedom of Expression” challenge! She shared some brilliant quotes about art, so stop by and take a peek! 🙂

ABOUT THE CHALLENGE

Every Thursday, I will pick up a “prompt word” to be acted upon by y’all. You are free to go wild with your imagination and interpret the “prompt” in any way that you like – photo, prose, poetry, fiction, non-fiction, quotes, articles or drawing/painting – whatever works for you!
In short, it’s all about you being the BOSS and choosing the best way possible to express and depict your understanding of the prompt and go berserk!

Richa @ iScriblr

It’s interesting that Richa shared this quote below! ❤

Artists are just children who refuse to put down their crayons.

Al Hirschfeld

I’ve been heavily sick for the past few days with a severe cold and allergies. My congested mind couldn’t really focus on anything too complex, so I decided to open up a steam punk coloring book I got from a convention last year featuring the amazing artwork of Brian Denham.

The box of Crayola crayons was just innocently sitting there on one of my shelves. 😉 As I opened the box, I relished a moment of silence as I marveled over the colors. It’s been too long since I last colored. I enjoyed blending the colors and developing the gradients and shadows of his “Victorian Secret Girls of Steampunk” Antarctic Press collection.

This morning I read a post on Riddles and Reveries called “Quotes from Anna Karenina”. I’ve only watched the movie with actress, Keira Knightley. It’s a visually stunning masterpiece of a tragic tale by Leo Tolstoy.

HDwallpapers

I couldn’t help but write a short story after I encountered this quote by Leo Tolstoy’s character Anna in Riddles and Reveries:

“If you love me as you say you do,’ she whispered, ‘make it so that I am at peace.”

Anna Karenina

So without further ado, here is a fan flash fiction of the aftermath of Anna Karenina’s death!

Life After Death

Train’s blaring lights struck
Horn sliced through sun-speckled air
Deafening silence

Anna’s life flashed before her eyes after she threw herself in front of the train. Darkness filled her vision in an instant. She blinked and awoke to find herself flying between the branches of a forest alongside a majestic angelic warrior with scarlet feathers and bright purple robes.

She smelled the refreshing scent of pine trees as the rays of sunshine warmed her entire body. A flock of blue jays sang joyous songs as they fluttered in the trees. The morning dew of the forest floor bed sparkled revealing a faint green glow that extended to a glistening meadow beyond. She felt her warrior’s healing presence – a protective and nurturing force.

Anna felt light – free of the torment and the burden of the jealousy she harbored for so long. Her cheeks flushed with the color of a new born rose. She was no longer shackled by societal conventions of imperial Russian orthodoxy. Anna took a deep breath. She could finally feel her husband’s, Karenin, forgiveness seeping into her soul. Her skin tingled at the former memory of her lover Count Vronsky.

A moment of peace is worth its weight in gold. Anna no longer felt like a caged animal. Her spirit is free to roam and experience this new grandeur of life that laid before her.

25 Comments Add yours

  1. iScriblr says:

    Oh WOW!!!! This is such a brilliant take on the prompt Sa! Loved the artistic inclination and creativity!👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you so much for this wonderful prompt! Art is one of my favorite passions. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. iScriblr says:

    PS – Hope you feel better soon!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      I am feeling much better now! 🙂 I can’t wait to get back to blogging.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sadje says:

    A beautifully written story.

    Like

  4. Miss N says:

    Never got the chance to watch the movie but I finished the book back when I was in high school. Nice story you have here. Hope you feel better now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you! I’m feeling much better now, and I hope to blog more of my adventures now 🙂

      Like

      1. Miss N says:

        It’s great to know that you feel much better now.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Winnie says:

    Get well soon, dear! Great take on the prompt! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Thank you Winnie! I believed that I fully recovered now. 🙂

      Like

  6. Joey Blue says:

    Nothing wrong with coloring!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Sometimes I need a reminder, and in this case a box of crayons did it for me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joey Blue says:

        Sometimes it’s just the simple things 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. TheReverist says:

    Hmm lol… Coincidentally, I have similar thoughts of Anna as you described in your story. However, it wasn’t a life after death scenario in my mind. I was wondering if Anna did not live in that era, the ending wouldn’t have been a tragedy. This came to me when I was doing the quotes post (btw, it’s Quotes from Anna Karenina, not ‘by’ in my post title. I was taken by surprise a bit thinking if I made the typo error and not realize it :D).
    Leo Tolstoy story was set in the 1860s when Russia was going thru various reforms and transformation in many aspects at all levels, but feudalism was still everywhere and deeply rooted. What if Anna lives in our age? It would be a whole different ending.
    I enjoyed the movie. Keira is beautiful and too bad Jude Law is too old for the role of Vronsky then, I thought he would do better 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      LOL, directors do the best with what they have! Thanks for the correction 🙂 Amazing how a preposition can change things. You bring up an interesting point! Change a few details within the story, and it can very much change the outcome. I wouldn’t mind checking out your ending of Anna Karenina of 2019. There was a sociology class I sat in on who was teaching about Disney films. One of her assignments was to change certain qualities of the characters or the time period and write an alternative ending.

      Like

  8. Mr. A says:

    Hi Theresaly! I hope you are well now!
    I miss your post.
    Cheers! 🍸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      Hello Mr.A! I’m feeling much better now. I went into hibernation for a few days. 🙂 I hope to blog about my latest adventures soon!

      Like

      1. Mr. A says:

        And Im excited to read all about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Lwbut says:

    Pretty darn creative from a ‘congested’ mind! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theresaly520 says:

      I pray for peace of mind when I’m sick, but sometimes it just wants to create! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lwbut says:

        I well know that feeling (“Shut up, mind!”) 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. theresaly520 says:

          🙂 It doesn’t take kindlyy to that. As a matter of fact, it may just try harder to make you think 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Lwbut says:

            Yeah, minds are a little like photocopiers…

            … talk badly to them and they make you really work hard to get what you want from them! 😉

            Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.