Sharks, Peacocks, Pitbulls & CFFC

Many a peacock hides his peacock tail from all eyes –and calls it his pride.  – Friedrich Nietzsche

peacock.PNGTaken at the Quadrangle, Fort Sam Military Base, San Antonio, TX

Even though his tail wasn’t fanned out like the others, this encounter with this particular peacock was a fortuitous one. I took this shot on one of my birthdays. He’s carrying such a regal and dignified pose. Considering the location, I wondered if he subconsciously imitated the demeanor of the generals or lieutenants that walked around the perimeter of the Quadrangle daily.

One of my lifetime questions is one of the “Nature vs Nurture” variety. How will my surroundings influence me in the upcoming year? I constantly wonder about the things I expose myself to everyday and how it will change me and my actions.

I wonder if it’s strange to think that animals can imitate whatever surrounds them. I once watched a few YouTube videos of pit bull dogs being friendly with babies despite being listed as one of the most dangerous breeds of dogs. Is it truly based on how the owners raise the dogs or is it based on the genetics of the species?

I also wonder about imitation and respect that is earned or given. There’s that familiar saying, “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.” I watched this incredible video of an interaction between a killer shark and a diver. The narrator tells other divers to NOT do this because many have died in their attempts.

The diver performs a power move similar to what the shark does to display dominance, and the shark respects him by giving him space. I’m just sitting on the edge of my seat in awe of how this shark does not tear him apart!

An earlier post of mine about acclimating to a new environment has made me wonder about gaining respect from individuals from a new town. Does it involve speaking the lingo of the natives? Dressing like them? Acting like them? It reminds me of a story my boyfriend told me about an interaction between world leaders Kim Jong Un and Trump. Anyway, all this talk of animal behavior makes me think of another question that is explored by another blogger, Kristen:

Do People In Modern Society Anthropomorphize Animals Too Much?

I also just finished reading an enjoyable murder mystery that was written in the style of Agatha Christie from Tales From the Mind of Kristian. Imitation in this regard inspires me to try to write in a style of my favorite author.
____________________________________________________________________________________________

4 Comments Add yours

  1. V.J. Knutson says:

    Excellent questions. As a person who suffers chronic illness, I am interested in studies that show the prevalence of illnesses in certain areas, giving credence to the argument that environment affects well-being. Thanks for joining in- I have enjoyed reading your post.

    Like

    1. theresaly520 says:

      You’re welcome: it’s been enjoyable! Three accounts come to my mind that discuss this argument. One was about a man who was given a diagnosis that he would only live for a year. He decided to move out of the hustle and bustle of the city and spend the rest of his days in a cabin out in the wilderness by the mountains. He lived a lot longer than the one year that was predicted.

      Another story was about a particular region in South America in which scientists speculate why cancer rates are one of the lowest rates in the world. It was a combination of the food that they were eating, their lifestyle, and pace of life.

      The last one was about the importance of creating balance and harmony in your own environment by using Feng Shui.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. V.J. Knutson says:

        Yes! I believe all of these to be true. I was bedridden for two and a half years, and then my husband bought a motor home so he could drive the bed across country. In the beginning, I was still quite ill, but as we travelled into warmer, dryer climate, I gained strength.

        Like

  2. Bless you, Thank you for reading my tales. 🙂 I enjoyed your post too.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.